Spriteclub

Full Version: Towards a new SpriteClub
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'd like to talk a bit today about whats in store for the future of SpriteClub, and I'd like to start by talking a bit about the past and my motivations. You see, I'm a programmer that really likes nice and clean code. Bosses no doubt hate me, because I'm more concerned about the code than it doing what they want it to do.
Now how does this tie in to SpriteClub? Well, I do SpriteClub for fun, and even if I'm not around in chat as often, trust me when I say I do have a lot of fun running this place for everyone. But the issue is, some parts, I'm not having fun with. One of these things has been the website's backend code.

About 6 years ago, SpriteClub's development was started while I was still a Bachelor student. I had a strong desire to make SpriteClub work, and for the website I just went with PHP because "that's the stuff most websites run on". It frankly took me a while to get anything functional at all, but eventually, through sheer determination, I made things work.
The problem is, it's not pretty. It's really, really not pretty. I was inexperienced, I just focused on making work what I wanted to work, and ignored important things. Generally, I made a hellscape for myself later on. As a result, it's now hard for me to develop new features, hard to debug existing things, and overall I just detest PHP and the way the site fits together. This, more than anything, has been the thing preventing me from adding features to the website over the past few years. Just a strong desire to not want to look at the code.

A few months ago I did some preliminary work to set up further development on the website, try and force myself over that mental blockade, but frankly, I feel it hasn't worked. I still don't want to work on the website, but I also really don't want to just leave it as-is.